State Senator

The Georgia Senate is the upper chamber of the Georgia General Assembly. Alongside the Georgia House of Representatives, it forms the legislative branch of state government and works with the governor of Georgia to create laws and establish a state budget.

Legislative authority and responsibilities of the Georgia Senate include passing bills on public policy matters, setting levels for state spending, raising and lowering taxes, and voting to uphold or override gubernatorial vetoes. There are 56 state senators and they are elected ever four years in the same election. They convene in January each year to set an annual operating budget, amend the current year's budget, and craft laws that range from promoting business to keeping health care spending in check.

Learn more about Sen. Wilkinson
View District Map

John Wilkinson
District 50

Capitol Address
421-A State Capitol
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone: (404) 463-5257
Fax: (404) 651-6768

District Address
P.O. Box 2227
Toccoa, GA 30577
Phone: (706) 886-1898